Beginning as a six room Greek Revival style homestead, the Barnes Museum was built in 1836 for Amon and Sylvia Bradley and was lived in by the Bradley/Barnes family for 137 years. Amon was a Southington entrepreneur and he and Sylvia raised their three children, Franklin, Alice and Emma in the old homestead. After Amon’s death in 1906, Bradley Barnes, Amon’s grandson, inherited the homestead and lived in the house till his death in 1973. The entrepreneurial ventures started by Bradley Barnes’ grandfather and father, as well as his own investments, gave Bradley the title of the “richest man in Southington.” Upon his death in 1973, Bradley willed his entire fortune away to friends and employees, as well as local schools, libraries and hospitals. He then bequeathed his family homestead, as well as all of its contents, to the Town of Southington to be run under the direction of the Board of Directors of the Southington Public Library as a museum.